top of page

Morel in Festival Food!!!

The Duanwu Festival (端午节), also often known as the Dragon Boat Festival, is a traditional holiday originating in China. Chinese have been celebrating this holiday for more than two thousand years. In memory of one of the greatest poets in China-Qu Yuan, Chinese people make and eat zongzi with families and friends celebrating the festival. If you are interested in why and how Chinese celebrate the holiday, click the link to wikipedia for more information: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dragon_Boat_Festival

This June, I made some traditional zongzi for the festival. The materials included sticky rice, salted duck egg yolk, pork, mung beans. Basically Chinese in the south prefer salty zongzi, while people in the north prefer sweet zongzi. I am from the south, so I like salty zongzi.

The pictures of zongzi made by myself:

Zongzi
Zongzi

One day I was chatting with my friend. He told me there were morel zongzi in the market! And their prize was so much higher than traditional ones. I bet they tasted sooo good! I must try one of those when I am in China next time.

Beside zongzi, morel mooncakes are available in the market as well! Making and sharing mooncakes is one of the hallmark traditions of Mid-autumn Festival. Traditional mooncakes are round pastries filling with red bean or lotus seed paste and salted duck egg yolks. There is another style of mooncake-snow skin mooncake. Snow skin mooncakes are a non-baked mooncake originating from Hong Kong. They need to must be refrigerated and can be stored in freezer for up to a few weeks. I made both traditional mooncakes and snow mooncakes for the Mid-autumn Festival every year.

Traditional Mooncake

Traditional mooncake (made in Sep 2018 by Siyi)

Snow Skin Mooncakes

Snow Skin Mooncakes

Snow skin mooncakes (made in Sep 2018 by Siyi)

This year, I found morel snow skin mooncake products in the market as well! But I cannot imagine the taste of these morel mooncakes, since most snow skin mooncakes are sweet. I am so looking forward to having a try though!

Morel mooncakes

bottom of page